Cumann na mBunscol
Co. Shligigh
INTO/GAA Cumann na mBunscol Mini-Sevens 2001
(See inTouch, January/February 2001)
Team: Panel of ten; seven-a-side.

Boys:- hurling and football; Girls:- camogie and football

Entries: Desmond Haran, Bunnanadden, Co. Sligo

Each county will choose one school in camogie, hurling and boys' and girls' football, and Dublin will choose six schools to advance to the regional finals. From these, 240 children will be chosen to participate at half-time in the All-Ireland semi-finals and finals in hurling and football. Thirty-six players from Connaught will be given the opportunity to play in Groke Parke before several thousand spectators and millions of TV viewers all over the world.

Playing rules and Guidelines

The normal rules of hurling and football with the following adaptations shall apply:

(i) All kick/puck-outs shall be taken from the goal line.

(ii) Unlimited substitutions shall be made from the half-way line.

(iii) Hand-pass scores shall not be allowed in either hurling, camogie or football. A punched point in football is permissable.

(iv) All kick-outs, frees, side-lines and 45s shall be taken from the hand.

(v) Players shall be limited to one toe tap and one hop in any solo movement.

(vi) As in ladies' football rules, girls shall be permitted to pick the ball directly from the ground.

(vi) A score directly from the puck-out in hurling or camogie is not permissable.

(vii) Games shall be of not less than 14 minutes duration and no more than 20 minutes. Each game to have a two minute interval.

(ix) 70 metres by 50 metres are the recommended pitch dimensions.

(x) Entries must have the prior approval of the Board of Management.

(xi) Teachers representing their school shall enter into arrangements to complete the mini-sevens in collaboration with Cumann na mBunscol, the recording body in each county.

(xii) A pupil may not be entered on more than one team.

(xii) Mixed teams may not be entered.

(xiv) Teams may be entered from an amalgamation of small schools, where the combined number of teachers does not exceed six (excluding remedial and special teachers).
Mini Sevens Boys & Girls Age Limits
Total Enrolment (3rd - 6th Classes incl.)

Boys                Girls          To be born on or
                                            after this date
200+               200+            1 Jan 1990
170-199         170-199        1 Dec 1989
140-169         140-169        1 Nov 1989
110-139         110-136        1 0ct 1989
80-109             80-109         l Sept l989
50-79               50-79          1 Aug 1989
30-49               30-49          1 July 1989
-29                       -29          1 June1989
Must be played by Friday 28th September 2001    
Schools Venue Co-ordinator
A. Cloonloo, Mullaghroe, Carn, Annaghmore Gurteen Brian Henry
B. Killavil, Bunnanadden, Knockminna, Culfadda Bunnadden David O' Farrell
C.[1] Achonry,Ballinacarrow,Drimina Achonry Tommie Kilcoyne
C.[2] Banada,Castlerock,Kilmactigue Tourlestrane Lorcan Brennan
D. Ballinbeg, Killenduff, Kilrusheighter, Templeboy   Nora Kearns
E. Castlegal, Hollyfield, Cairns Grange John Kelly
F. Stokane, Owenbeg, Kilglass, Cullens   Vincent Mc Mahon
G. Keash, Cloghogue, Monesteraden, Kilross Keash Eamonn Clarke
H. Ardkeeran, Geevagh, Kilmactranny, Ballintogher, Coolbock Riverstown John Hughes
I. Cliffoney, Ballinful, Grange, Rosses Point Grange Deirdre Kelly
J. Curry, Tubbercurry, Cloonacool, Rockfield Tubbercurry Frank Mc Gee
K. Ballisadare, Collooney, Ballymote Ballymote Neal Farry
L. Highpark, Dromore West, Rathlee, Corbally, Enniscrone Dromore West Martin Mulligan
M. St. Edwards, St. Brendans, Calry, Rathcormac Calry Eamonn Mullen
N. Sligo School Project, Mercy, St. Johns, Scoil Ursula St. Marys Olivia Flannery
O. Carraroe, Ransboro, Strandhill Ransboro Manus Shields
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ -------------------------- --------------------------------
Last Updated on 17/09/01
By Carl O'Rourke, Cumann na mBunscol, Co. Shligigh.

Fixtures and dates for the Mini-Sevens Hurling/Camogie Championships 2001

Regional Groups: Thursday 20th September
Semi-Finals: Thursday 27th September
Finals: Thursday 4th October.
All games @ 3-30 p.m.

Please contact group Co-Ordinators to finalise details.

GRP. SCHOOLS                                                     VENUE             CO-ORDINATORS     SCHOOL TEL.
1.      Curry, Moylough, Tubbercurry.                      Tubbercurry            Frank Mc Gee                  85018
2.      Enniscrone, Rathlee, Stokane, Cullens.            Enniscrone              Evelyn Brady            096-49243
3.      Drimina, Castlerock, Banada, Kilmactigue       Tourlestrane            David Mc Veigh               81345
4.      Bunninadden, Killavil, Cloghogue                     Bunninadden           David O'Farrell                82795
5.      Geevagh, Riverstown, Kilmactranny                 Riverstown             Jim Higgins                       65411
6.      Ballinacarrow, Ransboro, Collooney                Ransboro               Tommy Kilcoyne              30350
7.      St. Brendans, St. Edwards, Calry                     Calry                     Eamonn Mullen                 45449
8.      Templeboy, Ki11eenduff, Kilrusheighter,          Templeboy            Nora Kearins             096-47300

 Format: 8-Regional Groups. The top team from each group qualify for the semi-finals
Semi-Finals: A   Groups 1, 2, 3 and 4 
                    B   Groups 5, 6, 7 and 8
Last Updated on 17/09/01
By Lorcan Brennan, Hurling Officer, Cumann na mBunscol, Co. Shligigh.