Click  the image below for sceans  from the opening Night

This Passion Play is based and adapted from the World Famous Oberammergau Passion Play script. The producer is Paul Walsh, from  Wexford.  Fr. Willie Howell is musical director with Eanna McKenna as organist. 

Oberammergau, a small town in the south of Germany near the Swiss border, was suffering from a deadly plague in 1633. The little village promised that if their town was spared they would perform this mammoth play every 10 years. By the miracle of God's grace, they were delivered from this evil and they have lived up to their promise ever since.

This is again a mammoth task for a small village like Camross in Co. Wexford, but when we approached our Parish Priest Fr. Denis Brennan and asked about the whole parish being involved he welcomed us with open arms. Even then we were stretched to the limits and we had to appeal to our neighbouring parishes, Clongeen, Adamstown, Cushinstown, Raheen, Glynn-Barntown, Carrig-on-Bannow, Newbawn and Wexford and Cleariestown/Rathangan to support us. The response was unbelievable and the bringing to fruition of this Passion Play is in itself a miracle.

This is rural community life at its best. Fr. David Murphy our curate has helped in every way possible also. With local craftspeople,  sponsorship, the clergy,  bishop’s house,  the press, South East Radio and Wexford County Council have all come onboard to help us in this venture. For the weeks of Lent and before, we have been walking the way with Our Lord .  The fun, the tears, the learning the sharing and the joy of it all has made this a wonderful experience in 2000 and we felt we wanted to recreate the wonder and awe of it all 6 years down the road.   We hope that this is how you will describe the show - as an experience! We hope that long after the show is over, people will still recall the Camross Passion Play, produced in the year of Our Lord 2000 and 2006

Welcome from the Committee Chairperson

 Welcome to the 2006 production of the Easter Passion Play. It's been six years since our first production in 2000 and the whole idea then was to do something to celebrate the millennium. It was an outstanding success and the cast at that time vowed it would not be the last production. Six years later and we are back with a new production and almost the same cast.

The story depicts the final days in Our Lords life on earth and what you will see performed tonight re enacts the well known events and happenings that lead up to his crucifixion and death

Everybody has heard the story and listened to its detail. We invite you to sit back to see this story brought to life in words action and song

Cast members are from the parish of Taghmon and surrounding rural parishes here in Wexford. They have all given their time and commitment since the middle of January when rehearsals began to bring to you this week the Passion of Our Lord.

It's a special month here in Taghmon parish because on Sunday April 23rd our parish priest Monsignor Denis Brennan will be consecrated as the new Bishop of Ferns. News of his selection to high office broke on Ash Wednesday as we were in the middle of rehearsals for this weeks production. It's a big step for our parish priest so lets wish him well

We remember this week cast and crew members who played a part in bringing you the original production of this play six years ago and who are no longer with us

Finally the community of Camross and the organising committee welcome you all to Camross Hall a venue that has a tradition of entertainment stretching back over the past ninety years

Michael Doyle



The Cast

Finance Committee

Breda Nolan

Michael Doyle

Martin Colfer

Public Relations

Michael Doyle

Breda Banville

Martin Colfer

Fr. David Murphy

Maria Colfer


Michael Doyle

Maria Colfer

Margaret O’Gorman

Margaret Nolan

Breda Banville

Denis Banville

Breda Nolan

Peggy Doyle

Eddie Colfer

Robert Nolan



Christ Pat O’Callaghan

Mary (mother of Christ) Billie O’Donnell

Mary Magdalene Breda Nolan

High Priests

Archelaus Pat Kirwan

Saras Adrian Casey

Dathan Eoin Doyle

Caiphas Sean Hayden

Pilate Shay Hannon

Annas Jim Roberts

Herod Paul Walsh

Simon Michael Casey

Martha May Buttimer


Judas Val Whitty

Peter Seamus Murphy

Thomas Eddie Colfer

Andrew Richard Banville

John Michael Doyle

Matthew Michael O’Gorman

James the Younger John Breen

James the Elder Mogue Curtis

Jude Dave Roche

Bartholemew Michael Bolger

Philip Patrick Wadden

Simon Michael Casey

Samaritan Woman Maria Colfer

Young girl Sarah Banville

Jacob Thomas Whelan


Captain Patrick O’Reilly

Malchus Robert O’Connor

Domitius John Murphy

Melchi Martin Dunne

Catiline Patrick English

Caspius James Whitty

Faustus Karl Winters

Sabinus John O’Connor

Simon of Cyrene Brian O’Gorman


False Witnesses

Eliab Rose Doyle

Gad Margaret Crosbie

Nun Eileen Hannon

Servant Girl Breda Banville

Angel Leslie Power

Gesmas Sean O’Gorman

Dismas Michael O’Gorman

Joseph of Arimathea Martin Colfer

Veronica May Buttimer

Barabbas Dave Roche

Holy Women of Jerusalem

Kathleen Murphy Maureen Roche

Breda Whelan Margaret Crosbie

Mairead Bennett Breda Banville

Anne Power Rose Doyle

Catherine Seery Kathleen O’Grady

Mary B. Kelly Eileen Hannon

Crowd Scenes

Catherine Seery Kathleen Murphy

Maureen Roche Mairead Bennett

Anne Power Breda Whelan

Rose Doyle Kathleen O’Grady

Mary B. Kelly Vincent Murphy

Barry O’Gorman Padraig Fanning

Mark Waters



Robert Furlong

Padraig Furlong

Tomàs Whelan

John Goulding

Dick Murphy

Michael Ridgwell

Joe Cooper

Des Walsh

Martin Jordan

Matt Banville

Ray Furlong

Martin Colfer

William Considine

Michael O’Gorman

James Whitney

Thomas Furlong

Donnagh North

Mattie Banville

Tina Whelan

Angela Furlong

Myra Winters

Aileen Winters

Marianne Young

Patricia Sweeney

Connie Swan

Ciara Sweeney

Margaret Kelly

Mary Margaret Roche

Marie O’Rourke

Kathleen Murray

Margaret O’Gorman

Eileen Whitty

Dympna Kelly

Kathleen Hickey

Mary Kelly

Peggy Cooper

Ann Furlong

Josephine Grennan

Sadie English

Maggie Morrissey

Mary Nolan

Set Design and Props

Denis Banville

Robert Nolan

Jim Roche

Scenery Designer

 Sharon Kehoe

Backstage Crew

Denis Banville

Robert Nolan

Jim Roche

Thomas Nolan

Patrick Murphy

Eddie Roche

Wardrobe Co-Ordinator

Peggy Doyle

Wardrobe Team

Margaret O’Gorman

Majella Colfer

Assistants Theresa Murphy

Mary Margaret Roche

Make –Up

Bridin Rochford

Dympna Kelly

Breda Banville

Margaret Nolan

Margaret Crosbie

Breda Whelan

Ruth Kelly

Eileen Hannon

Raffle Co Ordinator

Margaret Nolan


Margaret O’Gorman

Dolores Whitty

Edel O’Gorman

Carol Clarke

Fr. David Murphy

Veronica’s Towel Art work by: Mary Doyle & Lou Barden

Lighting Philip Walsh

Sound J. Coffey

Car Park Supervisors

Paddy Nolan

Phil Kelly

And Helpers

Dressing Room Supervisors

Paddy Nolan

Phil Kelly


Margaret O’Gorman

Phil Kelly

Jim Doyle

Pat Codd


Pat Kavanagh Paddy O’Gorman (Poulpeasty)


South East Radio

Irish Catholic

Echo Newspaper

The People Newspaper Group

Wexford Co. Council

KCR Radio

Bishop’s House

Clergy of Diocese of Ferns

School Art Competition

Judge Artist Sharon Kehoe

Sponsors of Art Competition Spectrum Art Supplies, Wexford

Backdrop on loan from:

Fr. Patsy Young, Ballyconnell, Co. Cavan.

Tea Room Cast

Mary Tector

Helen Roche

Sheila Waters

Mary Bolger


Wexford Co Council Arts committee

Cedarwood Kitchen & Bedroom Furniture, Camross

C& D Providers Larkin’s Cross

Irish Pride, Taghmon

Musgraves, Cork

Glanbia, Taghmon

Wallace’s Wellingtonbridge

Morris’s Providers Waterford

Ferrigcarrig Hotel

Brookes Thomas Group

Dunnes Stores

Spectrum, Wexford


A & M Hardware, Taghmon

For  images from the Camross passion play 2000 click here