GENUKI Home page
County Kerry Kerry   Contents Contents


"BALLYMACELLIGOTT, a parish, in the barony of TRUGHENACKMY, county of KERRY, and province of MUNSTER 4¾ miles (S. E.) from Tralee; containing 3,535 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the high roads leading from Tralee to Castle-Island and Killarney, comprises 11,552 statute acres, as applotted by the tithe act.
The great limestone quarry is situated on the estate of A. Blennerhasset, Esq., of Ballyseedy, and about half-way on the old road from Tralee to Castle-Island. A quarry was first opened here in 1811, for building the barracks in Tralee, but was afterwards discontinued; and near that spot is the present quarry, which was first opened to procure materials for enlarging Ballyseedy house, since which time it has been continually worked and the stone used for the county gaol and the new court-house at Tralee, and latterly for the ship canal from tralee to Blennerville, and affords employment to about 30 men."
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis (1837)]


Note: The Civil Parish of Ballymacelligott ceased to be used for census purposes in the mid nineteenth century when District Electoral Divisions (DEDs) were introduced.

Ballymacelligott is contained in the following DEDs:
Arabela DED Ahane, Arabela, Ash-hill, Ballyaukeen, Ballybeg, Ballybrannagh, Ballydwyer Middle, Ballydwyer West, Ballyfinoge, Ballymacelligott, Ballynahinch, Barrakilla, Bealagrellagh, Caherbreagh, Cahermore, Clashatlea, Clogherclemin, Cloghermore, Coolnadead, Curraghmacdonagh, Doonimlaghbeg, Flemby, Gortagullane, Gortatlea, Gortshanvally, Kilkerry, Kilquane, Knockavinnane, Kylebeg, Loughnacappagh, Martara, Mountnicholas, Shanavally, Tonreagh Lower, Tonreagh Upper, Tullygarran townlands
Ballyegan DED Garraun Beg, Garraun More, Maglass East townlands.
Nohaval DED Ballineedora, Cahercullenagh Lower, Cahercullenagh Upper, Cloghavoola, Clogher, Glanageenty, Kilbane, Knockatarriv, Magh East, Magh West, Maglass West, Muingnaminnane, Muingnatee, Rathanny, Reanagowan, Rockfield, Tooreen, Tooreenastooka townlands
O'Brennan DED Ballinknock, Carrignafeela, Gortnaleaha, Lissooleen, Mweelinroe, Potaley, Tursillagh townlands

Return to top of page

Civil Registration

From 1863 Ballymacelligott was part of the Tralee Superintendant Registrar's District. Arabela and O'Brennan DEDs were in Tralee No.1 Registrar's District. Ballyegan and Nohaval DEDs were part of Castleisland Registrar's District. See the Registration Districts page.

Return to top of page


A Map showing the Townlands of Ballymacelligott from Rootsweb
Return to top of page

[Last updated: 12-Jul-2004 12:43 PM - Laurence Jones]