Genuki Logo   Murher Parish Murher

An 1868 Gazetteer description of the following places in


"MURHER, a parish in the barony of Iraghticonnor, county Kerry, province of Munster, Ireland, 6 miles N.N.E. of Listowel. Tarbert is its post town. It is 4 miles long, and its greatest breadth is 2 miles. It contains the village of Newtown Sandes. The surface is very boggy, and has a poor soil. The river Gale traces the southern boundary, and the Listowel and Tarbert road intersects the parish. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Ardfert and Aghadoe, value with Listowel, £335. The Roman Catholic chapel is united to those of Kilnaughton and Aghavallin. There are three daily schools. Moyvane is the principal seat."

"CLOONPROHUS, a hamlet in the parish of Murher, barony of Iraghticonnor, in the county of Kerry, Ireland, 4 miles N.E. of Listowel."

"NEWTOWNSANDES, a village in the parish of Murher, barony of Iraghticonnor, county Kerry, Ireland, 6 miles N.E. of Listowel."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]

These pages are intended for personal use only, so please respect the conditions of use.
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.

[Last updated 18-Jul-2003 02:03 PM, Gaz3 v01.34, by Laurence Jones. ©2000]
Return to top of page