CORK CITY PLACES
The Cork Butter Museum is a unique institution, celebrating one of the great success stories of Ireland,
the butter trade. Located in the historic Shandon area of Cork city, the story begins with the central role
of dairy culture in the Island of Saints and Scholars. The Museum goes on to describe the internationally important Butter
Exchange in nineteenth century Cork, the traditional craft of home butter making and the modern success of the Kerrygold brand.
In the course of this story, the commercial, social, and domestic life of Ireland is recalled.
Beginning with the origins of dairying in Ireland, this gallery display deals with the Irish practice of preserving butter in bogs,
the importance of milch cows in medieval Ireland and cattle raiding.
The entire ground-floor gallery displays traditional butter-making
equipment. The development of the dairy industry in the twentieth century is also explored and the story is brought completely
up-to-date with an audio-visual presentation on the industry since the early 1960’s. Throughout the Museum the displays
are enhanced by clear and informative panels covering all aspects of the dairy culture in Ireland.
The Cork Butter Museum
The Tony O’Reilly Centre
Tel 353 (0) 21 4300 600
The Lewis Glucksman Gallery
The Lewis Glucksman Gallery is a cultural and educational institution that promotes the research,
creation and exploration of the visual arts. Located at the main entrance to University College Cork on Western Road,
the Glucksman is an award-winning building that includes display spaces, lecture facilities, a riverside restaurant
and gallery shop.
There is public parking for visitors to the Glucksman and UCC at Perrots Inch car park.
Drive along Western Road past UCC Ceremonial Gates on the left, and continuing along until traffic lights.
Turn left at traffic lights and take first left into car park. The gallery is a short walk along the river from the car park.
There is also disc parking along the Mardyke, O'Donovans Road and College Road.
Welcome to Cork English Market
It is one of the oldest of its kind. Trading as a market since 1788, it pre-dates most of the other markets like it. Indeed, Barcelona's famous Boqueria market did not start until 80 years after The English Market first started to serve the people of Cork. It has survived the Famine, revolutions, wars, fire and economic decline.
The Market has adapted down through the years and now offers a larger range of produce than it did in times past. In times past, most of the shoppers were shopping on a cheaper budget or haggling with the stall owners in hopes of even better deals! A thing that can still be seen today if you feel up to the challenge!
Cork City Gaol
heritage centre is renowned for its wax figures. Step back in
time to see what 19th / early 20th Century life was like in Cork
inside and outside the prison walls. Amazingly lifelike wax
figures, furnished cells, sound effects and fascinating
Gaol is located 2k n/w from Patricks Street and while the
magnificent castle-like building is now a major and unique
visitor attraction, this Gaol once housed 19th century prisoners!
Visitors get a fascinating insight into day-to-day prison life at
a time when the high walls ensured no escape and denied
law-abiding citizens the opportunity to see one of the finest
examples of Ireland's architectural heritage. Top
Museum is located in the Old
Guard Room inside the old Main Entrance Gate to Collins Barracks.
The Old Guard Room building was erected in 1806 in the reign of
King George III. It was designed to be the main security guard
room of the Barrack overlooking the Main Gate with a view down
Military Hill. In 1985 as part of the Cork 800 celebrations, a
memorial museum and reference library was established. The museum
is dedicated to the memory of those members of the garrison who
had died performing their duty. In 2005 this Museum was relocated
to the Old Guard Room at Old Youghal Road, Telephone 021
4514000, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00
was constructed on a limestone
outcrop overlooking the medieval walled city in 1601. The fort
was demolished by the citizens of Cork in 1603. It was replaced
in 1624 by a stronger fortIt was used in 1690 by Williamite
forces besieging the city. In 1835 the Fort was used as a female
prison then as a military base and finally as a police barracks.
The site is highly significant in relation to the military and
social history of Cork and boasts an exceptional view of the city
from the ramparts and from the recently constructed timber
viewing gallery along the north side of the courtyard. Entry from
Barracks Street, 10.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m. Last entry at 4.30 p.m.
Cork Vision Centre
Within its ancient walls, the Cork Vision Centre offers a
wonderfully spacious interior beneath a restored vaulted ceiling.
An elegant, modern intervention incorporates a multi-purpose
gallery, and ancillary spaces.Located in the heart of Cork's
historic centre, and within walking distance of the city's
artistic, commercial and tourist attractions. The Cork Vision Centreconservation in action, and to explore
Cork's evolution from past, offers visitors an opportunity to
appreciate a fine example of through present, and onwards to
The buildings which stand at
the Waterworks site today date from the 1800s and 1900s but water
has been supplied to the city of Cork from the site since the
1760s. Find out how water was provided from the site in this
section.The development of Lifetime Lab has involved the
conservation and restoration of the Old Waterworks site.This
section details the challenges encountered in each of the
different buildings on the site and outlines how those challenges
In the early 1760s the Pipe Water Company was established to
provide a water supply to the city of Cork. The
architect/engineer David Ducart designed the Waterworks which
were completed by 1768. The site included a pumping house and
open storage reservoirs or "basins" which were
constructed on the hillside to the north of the river at the same
location as the present Waterworks buildings. In fact, the
Waterworks scheme seen today was actually built on the site of
the lower water basin.By the first half of the 19th century, it
was felt that the water supply to the city required upgrading.
The population of the city was increasing rapidly and new suburbs
developing on the city's north side could not benefit from the
existing system as they were above the water basins. In addition,
it was considered that the use of wooden pipes and untreated,
unfiltered water was out-dated. Thomas Wicksteed, one of the most
respected water engineers of the time and engineer of the East
London Waterworks was commissioned to report on the existing
services and make recommendations for a new scheme.Between 1902
and 1907 Benson's scheme was altered when the Cornish beam engine
was replaced with three triple extension engines made by Combe
& Barbour of Belfast. Two Lancashire boilers were installed
to supply the steam to power these engines. These are the engines
and boilers seen at the site today.
Public Museum and Fitzgerald's Park
The collections of Cork
Public Museum include the collection that features some of the
most important archaeological finds from this region. Among them
is Irelands oldest Pick and Shovel, discovered in a Bronze
Age copper mine in Mount Gabriel, the Iron Age Cork Helmet Horns
and the Garryduff Gold Bird, a triumph of Early Medieval skill
The ethnography collection contains some of the finer examples of
workmanship from areas as far away as Australia, New Zealand and
the South Seas Islands.
Classical archaeology is also represented in Cork Public Museum
with a small but impressive collection of artefacts from ancient
Egypt and Greece. The importance of Cork as a thriving medieval
town is explored in an exhibition that contains objects excavated
from recent digs around the medieval town wall. Open: April to September at
The Mardyke, Cork. Admission is free.
The Park is named after Edward Fitzgerald who was Lord Mayor of Cork
1901-1903 . Generations of Cork people have strolled through the
park, relaxed and enjoyed its calm tranquil atmosphere among the
trees, shrubs and sculptures. To one side is the River Lee with
swans, beyond lie the verdant gardens of Sunday's Well, sloping
down to the river bank, with here and there a smal slip peeping
out, evoking memories of days when residents regurlarly went
punting on the river.
Saint Fin Barre's
Legend has it that St. Fin Barre
was the son of Amergin, whose tribe was descended from Eochaidh
Muidmheadoin, brother of the king of Munster. Amergin settled in
the territory of Muskerry, in the county of Cork, where he
obtained an inheritance and land at a place called Achaidh
Durbchon, near the spot afterwards known as Gougane Barra, at the
sources of the river Lee. The site of St. Fin Barre's cathedral
has been a place of worship since the 7th century, and the school
founded by him there continued to be listed among the five
principal monastic schools of Ireland down to the 10th
century.Designed by William Burges and consecrated in 1870, the
Cathedral lies on a site where Christian worship has been offered
since the seventh century. There has been a choir at Saint Fin
Barres Cathedral since the medieval period, being first
mentioned in a manuscript of 1328.
of St. Anne Shandon is one of Ireland's most famous Christian
landmarks. Since the 6th century there has been a Christian
witness in this place. Before St. Finbarre, the patron saint of
our city, established his College of Learning at Gillabbey Street
in the 7th century, where now stands the magnificent Cathedral
dedicated to his name, there has been a Church on this site. The
present Church of St. Anne Shandon was constructed in 1722.