Cork Intermediate Finals         [Back to Home Page]

The Cork Intermediate Hurling and Football Championships date back to 1909. The Hurling Championship didn't change at all from 1909 until 2003 when it was decided to split the grade into Premier Intermediate and Intermediate A. The Premier winners would go to Senior while the Intermediate A winners would go to Intermediate Premier. Sixteen clubs made up the Premier grade while the rest of the 2003 Intermediate teams plus Junior County Hurling winners Dromina, as well as divisional winners Argideen Rangers, Kanturk, Carrigaline, Blackrock & Watergrasshill became part of the new Intermediate grade. The Muskerry Junior A winners Grenagh declined the invitation and remained in the Junior ranks. 

In football the Intermediate Championship was discontinued after 1938 because of a lack of clubs. From 1939-1964 any team that won the Junior County Football Final could go straight to Senior. The Intermediate Championship was revived in 1965 and continued until 2005. For 2006 the Football Championship has followed the hurling and has been split into the Premier Intermediate and Intermediate A grades.

Intermediate Football (Split into two tiers after 2005)

1909 - 1969

1970 - 2005

2006 - Present (Includes Premier Intermediate & Intermediate A)

Intermediate Hurling (Split into two tiers after 2003)

1909 - 1969

1970 - 2003

2004 - Present (Includes Premier Intermediate & Intermediate A)