Prerogative and other Wills and Administrations
Until 1857, wills were administered in ecclesiastical courts of two types; the Prerogative court of Armagh, and 28 consistorial, or diocesan courts.  The Prerogative court was used where property existed in more than one diocese; consistorial courts administered property within one diocese.  Broadly speaking, prerogative wills belonged to the wealthy classes, and are therefore an indication that those concerned were almost exclusively English planters, or Protestant ascendancy, although there were exceptions.  One extreme example of such an exception would be a man with the diocesan boundary crossing his small farm, which meant his would be a prerogative will, while another, who owned all the land of a diocese, but none outside it, would have 'only' a consistorial will. After 1858, all wills are the same. The Catholic Irish do not have records which can be traced to the same degree, as they were not allowed to buy, own, inherit or bestow property, and could not make wills, except in fairly rare instances where they had made a vow of allegiance to the crown.  This law was eased piecemeal from 1789, (for bogs) to about 1890. Marriage licence bonds were used in a minority of cases where the couple did not wish to have the banns of marriage read from the pulpit, and are of limited value, as they are not an indication of the total number of marriages which actually took place. The indexes of wills and administrations are more complete, except for some which were not recorded, as can be seen from the difference between the various sources for the same material. The actual wills were all burned in 1922.  Included in brackets are various notes taken from the collections of Sir William Betham and another genealogist, Denis O'Callaghan Fisher, from wills up to 1800 only. Dates recorded are not consistently in respect of either the writing out of the will, or to its proving at court; in some cases, but not all, the date given is stated to be either one or the other of these; where there are two dates, they apply to both events, and the date of death can be assumed to be somewhere between the will date and the date of granting of probate. The wills listed are taken from Vicar's Index to Prerogative Wills of Ireland; the manuscript indexes to wills and administrations, in the National Archives, which include estates administered where no will was made; wills and administrations recorded by Sir William Betham; other wills which have had some family details abstracted by O'Callaghan Fisher, (in the back of a small notebook held in the Genealogical Office, Dublin, ref GO Ms 142, pp 86 - 101); and wills recorded by Fr Wallace Clare.  They have the following Lae/Lea/Lee/Leigh/Ley/Lye entries (in alphabetical order, by first name):  
Prerogative Marriage Licence Bonds 1755 - 1804
Wills, Administrations, & Marriage Licence Bonds
diocese, from manuscript indexes in National Archives, or published
Diocese of Ardagh
Includes part of: Longford, Meath, Cavan, Leitrim, Longford, Sligo, Westmeath.
none pre 1800
Diocese of Ardfert and Aghadoe 
Includes part of: Cork, Kerry.
Wills 1690 - 1800
Diocese of Armagh
Includes part of: Armagh, Londonderry, Louth, Meath, Tyrone.
Diocese of Cashel and Emly 
Includes part of: Kilkenny, Limerick, Tipperary. 
Wills 1618 - 1800
Diocese  of Clogher 
Includes part of: Donegal, Fermanagh, Louth, Monaghan, Tyrone.
date of Probate
Marriage Licence Bonds
Diocese of Clonfert and Kilmacduagh
Includes part of: Galway, Offaly [King's].
No Lee wills 
Diocese of Cloyne 
Includes part of: Cork, Limerick, Waterford.
Wills 1621 - 1800  
Diocese of Connor 
Includes part of: Antrim, Down, Londonderry.
Diocese of Cork and Ross 
Includes part of: Cork, Kerry.
Wills 1548 - 1800 
Diocese of Derry 
Includes part of: Antrim, Donegal, Londonderry, Tyrone
Wills 1612 - 1858
Diocese of Down 
Includes part of: Antrim, Down.
Diocese of Dromore 
Includes part of: Antrim, Armagh, Down.
Wills 1678 - 1858 
Diocese of Dublin and Glendalough
Includes part of: Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Laois [Queen's], Wexford, Wicklow. 
The Twenty Sixth Report of the Deputy Keeper of the Public Records in Ireland has these records of Marriage Licences, Wills and Intestacy up to the year      1800;
Diocese of Elphin 
Includes part of: Galway, Sligo.
Diocese of Ferns 
Includes part of: Carlow, Wexford, Wicklow.
Wills 1601 - 1800 
Diocese of Kildare 
Includes part of: Kildare, Laois [Queen's], Offaly [King's], Wicklow. 
no Lee wills in Ms to 1800
Diocese of Killala and Achonry 
Includes part of: Mayo, Sligo. 
Index damaged; no legible entry for Lee
Diocese of Kilaloe and Kilfenora 
Includes part of: Clare, Laois [Queen's], Limerick, Offaly [King's], Tipperary. 
Wills 1653 - 1800 
Diocese of Kilmore 
Includes part of: Cavan, Fermanagh, Leitrim, Meath, Sligo.
There are two incomplete indexes; one, the remnant of the manuscript destroyed in 1922; and the other compiled from the data collected by Sir William Betham.
Kilmore      - Betham's data
Kilmore - from the fragment of the original Index in the National Archives
Diocese of Kilmore and Ardagh Marriage Licence Bonds
Diocese of Leighlin 
Includes part of: Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois [Queen's], Wexford, Wicklow.
no Lee wills
Diocese of Limerick 
Includes part of: Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick. 
Wills 1615 - 1800
Lismore - see Waterford
Diocese of Meath 
Includes part of: Cavan, Longford, Meath, Offaly [King's], Westmeath.
Marriage Licence Bonds
Diocese of Newry and Mourne
Includes part of: Armagh, Down.
No Lee wills
Diocese of Ossory 
Includes part of: Kilkenny, Laois [Queen's], Offaly [King's]. 
Wills 1536 - 1800 
Diocese of Raphoe 
Includes part of: Donegal.
Wills 1684 - 1858 
Ross - see Cork and Ross
Diocese of Tuam 
Includes part of: Galway, Mayo, Roscommon.
Diocese of Waterford and Lismore 
Includes part of: Cork, Tipperary, Waterford. 
Wills 1645 - 1800