Mountmellick Community School
Debating Final

On Monday 29th May in Dunamaise Theatre in Portlaoise the Laois County Council School Debating finals were held.  The quality of debating at both Junior and Senior level was indeed superb, and an enjoyable and infomative evening was had by all.

Mountmellick Community School had to be winners on the night, as both Junior teams were comprised of MCS students.  Team A was Captain Denise C., Nuala C., Melissa F. and Edward G.  Team B was made up of Captain Sharon D., Lucy O'L., Heather J., and Ellen D.  their motion was "that at five yearly intervals, all second level teachers should be subject to formal evaluation of their performance and be assessed by Department Inspectors, students and parents".  Team B proved successful with their side of the motion, with Sharon D. winning the award for best speaker.

The two teams in contention for the Senior title were Heywood Community School and Brigidine Convent, Mountrath.  The motion was "that the absence of a formal regional policy by successive Irish governments has resulted in an overpopulated and congested capital city".  Winners here were the Brigidine convent team, with Hillary McC. being selected as the best speaker.