Monivea Mini Rugby Football by Paraic McGann

Since mini rugby started in Monivea in 1981, Carnaun National School have taken the lead in terms of players' attendance and in discipline both on and off the field. Indeed, Carnaun won the very first mini rugby league in 1981. In the intervening years, boys from the school have been playing in all grades, some of whom show great promise.

 Three present pupils of Carnaun hold the titles of Player of the Year in their respective aged groups -Kevin McMahon U-12, Denis Cronin U-10 and Wayne Connaughton U-8.

Boys from the school currently playing mini rugby are Kevin McMahon, Paul Hynes, Liam Rabbitt, David Courtney and Michael Connaughton—all recently returned from a successful trip to Wales. Also: Kieran Rabbitt, Gearoid and Diarmuid Gill, Denis Cronin, Donal Rabbitt, Eamonn Mullins and Wayne Connaughton.

 Monivea R.F.C. would like to thank Mr. Finbarr O’Regan, his staff and the children's' parents for their support throughout the years.

 We wish to take this opportunity to congratulate them on their centenary celebrations.

Back to Carnaun Centenary Book
Back to the top