Fenagh St. Caillins Vs. Gortletteragh

Masonite Senior Championship 2000

First Round

Result:Fenagh St. Caillins 1-07Gortletteragh 1-08
Venue:                  Cloone


Fenagh St. Caillins' dreadful championship record against Gortletteragh continues following their defeat to a determined Gortletteragh outfit by one solitary point in Cloone last Sunday evening. Fortunately Fenagh may still progress to the second round due to the new championship format introduced this year. They will however have to improve vastly if they are to overcome stiff opposition from both Carrigallen and Drumreilly respectively. These are two games, which Fenagh St. Caillins must win in order to progress to the second round where they would likely meet the winners of Group Two, which probably will be Melvin Gaels.

In a very poor game of football the result would probably have reflected the game better had it ended in a draw. However Gortletteragh showed great resolve to come from being 4 points down at half-time (1-3, 0-2) to go 1 point up (1-3, 1-4) following a 15 minute spell in the second half where Fenagh never contested the game at all. Fenagh St. Caillins seemed to rouse themselves when they finally registered their first score of the second half after 20 minutes of play. From there on it was 'nip and tuck' all the way as both teams exchanged the lead. With 2 mins from time gortletteragh pulled ahead by a point with the score standing at (1-8, 1-7). Fenagh St. Caillins threw everything into attack but could not draw level. Two minutes into injury time Fenagh St. Caillins where offered a lifeline when Gortletteragh conceded a 30 metre free. Ciaran Duignan stepped up to take the free kick, which went inches wide of the upright to leave Gortletteragh victors by a point.

Paul Gill, Brendan Flynn, Raymond Tubman, Bobby O’Rourke, Padraig Flynn, Killian McLoughlin, Johnny McGovern, Niall Flynn, Peter Guckian, Darragh Bardan, T.P. McLoughlin, Gerry Butler, Patrick Guckian, Ciaran Duignan, Enda McKiernan, Francis Duignan, Joe Conefrey, Sean Logan, Kenneth Kilkenny, Joe McDermott, Brendan Curran, Kevin Dowd.
Sean Logan, Don Flynn and Hubie Reynolds.
Pat Faughnan