Fenagh St. Caillins Vs. Glenfarne

Senior League 2000

Saturday 23rd SeptemberFenagh St. Caillins 1-06 Glenfarne 1-10

A determined second half performance by Glenfarne left them deserving victors over a depleted Fenagh St. Caillins side bringing them closer to safety in Division 1B, whilst dropping Fenagh St. Caillins into the bottom half of the table where 3 teams, including St. Caillins, are level on number points and games played.

Glenfarne kicked off the first-half playing with the advantage of a very strong wind. Fenagh St. Caillins' first score came from Ray Greenan in the 7th minute following a very strong opening 6 mins from Glenfarne in which they registered 2 points. Glenfarne again dominated the next 12 mins. when they scored 3 unanswered points. Fenagh St. Caillins then roused themselves and playing some exceptional passing football controlled the remainder of the first-half. A Brendan Flynn free in the 23rd minute and a punched goal minutes later by Daragh Barden left both sides level. Two minutes before half time, Brendan Flynn gave St. Caillins a 1-point lead after he pointed from play. The half-time score stood at 1-03 to 0-05 in favour of Fenagh St. Caillins.

On resumption of the game the wind had completely died away. Glenfarne started the second half with a vengeance and within 11 mins. raced into a three point lead after some constant fouling by the Fenagh defence. Fenagh St. Caillins responded through a Brendan Flynn free and a point from play by Ray Greenan over the next 9 minutes to cut the margin to just one point. Glenfarne retaliated immediately with another converted free and then Glenfarnes' Seamus Dillon ended any hope for St. Caillins when he scored a goal following a powerful run through the centre of the Fenagh defence by Glenfarne midfielder, Thomas McDermott. The game ended with a point by Killian McLoughlin, leaving Glenfarne victors by 4 points and leaving Fenagh St. Caillins in relegation trouble.

Team Lineup.

1. Paul Gill

2. Francis Duignan
3. Killian McLoughlin (0-1)
4. Ciarán Redican

5. Joe Connefry
6. Brendan Flynn (0-3)
7. David O'Beirne

8. T.P. McLoughlin
9. Peter Guckian

10. Bobby O'Rourke
11. Ray Greenan (0-2)
12. Sean Logan

13. Kenneth Kilkenny
14. Dara Baraden (1-0)
15. Brendan Curran

Subs: Niall Flynn for Brendan Curran (13mins.), Justin Flynn, Kevin Dowd.