Welcome to the Awards Page

Photography, Snapshot and Perpetual Winners 2002

Presentation of Awards for the 16th Togher International Festival of Amateur Photography took place at the L'Arche Centre Togher on Friday 24th May 2002. The prizes were presented on behalf of the Sponsors by the Leas
Caithaoirleach of Cork County Council, Cllr. Derry Canty and the Deputy Lord Mayor Cllr. Sean Martin. The P.R.O. of T.C.A. Mr. Tom O'Sullivan, Deputy Dan Boyle T.D. and Cllr. Mary Shields were
also Present. All proceeds from TIFAP are donated to Voluntary Groups providing a service in the community.
This year to The Samaritans, Togher Branch Victim Support, Meals-on-Wheels and the Penny Dinners.
Mr. Ambrose Guilfoyle Manager of Wilton Shopping Centre also presented the Over All Winner with a cheque.
By William O'Callaghan P.R.O.

Photography Classes:

Class 1      
All Ireland Mono Theme A Moment in Time Open to All Amateur Photographers
Kevin Ryan Bertra Strand Ballincollig Place 3rd.
Helen Twomey Aoife Bandon Co Cork Place Runner Up||
Larry Cummins Norte Dame Cork Place _Winner
Class 2
Monochrome Novice
Theme Pictorial  
Helen Twomey Sisters (Italy) Bandon Co.Cork Place Winner
Class 3 - Confined to DistinstionHolders Theme: A Moment in Time
Kevin Ryan Frozen in Time Ballincollig Place 3rd.
Paddy Coyle Elder Counseling Glasnevin Place Runner Up
Kevin Ryan Frozen Moment Ballincollig Place Winner
Class 4 Open to all Amateur Photographers Theme: Scapes
Cathy Murray Nights Eye Orchard Road Place 3rd.
Susan Flannery Old Mombassa Fort Windmill Road Place Runner Up
Larry Cummins Skelligs Cork Place Winner
Class 5. Novice Theme: A Moment in Time
John O'Shaugnessy The Life of Brian Frankfield Place Winner
Class 8 Students of Photography at 3rd Level Colleges Theme Scapes
Joleen Cronin Sea Scape Crosshaven Place Joint Winner
Joleen Cronin Untitled Crosshaven Place Joint Winner
Ruth Vaughan   Kilkee Place Runner Up

Class 9 Colour Theme: A Moment in Time
Justin P. Davenne Market Day India Pope's Quay Place Winner
Class 10 Overseas Open to Amateur Photographers living outside of Ireland

Aud Sognnes Norwegian Forrest Norway Place 3rd
Guillie Christy Sumidero Canyon Mexico Place Runner Up
Marion Burman Winter in Coquitlan British Columbia Place Winner
Class 13 Entries from Cities Twinned with Cork Theme A Moment in Time
J. Byrnes Sunlight Slopes Coventry P.S. Place Runner Up
Steven Chetwynd Cambridge Street Coventry P.S. Place Winner
Class 14 Peace or Peaceful
Larry Cummins Ripples Cork Place 3rd
Pat Walsh Raindrops Ladysbridge Place Runner Up
Kevin Ryan Yachts in a Mist Ballincollig Place Winner

Perpetual Trophies:

1. Best Overall Entry:"Yachts in a Mist" - by Kevin Ryan Ballincollig

2. Best Entry by a Senior Citizen :"Senior Counseling" - by Paddy Coyle Glasnevin Dublin

3. Best Under 16 Years Snapshot: Won Jointly by Anne Marie O'Riordan Rathcoole Mallow and Aishling Byrne Ballinhassig

4. Best Togher Entry:"Sunset" - by Michael o'Callaghan

5. O'Donoghue Trophy for The Best Use of Light:"Night's Eye" - by Cathy Murray

6 .P.E.A.C.E. Trophy: "Yachts in a Mist" - by Kevin Ryan Ballincollig

7 Best Snapshot of A Togher Household Pet: by Madaline Nearson-McNamara

8. Best Overall Snapshot: by Kay Murray, Pinecroft .


Thank You To Our Panel of Judges
Who generously gave their time and attention to the unenviable task of selecting The Award Winners in The Photographic & Snapshot Sections They were
Caroline Delaney Evening Echo
Michael Aherne Local Artist
Donal Dwyer Photography Tutor St. John's College Cork
Marcus Connaughton Producer R.T.E.
Aidan Flannagan Community Garda Togher D.H.Q.


All Content Copyright to TIFAP
Togher International Festival of Amateur Photography, Eanriss, Edward Walsh Rd.,Togher, Cork, Ireland.
Ph. No: 00 353 (0) 21 4321582 / 00 353 (0) 21 4961420 Email: togherfest@iol.ie
Webpages designed Mary O' Halloran
Email: maryoh22@eircom.net