Berford Cross was erected by William Moore, a wealthy landowner from Downstown,
in memory of his wife Thomasina Berford who died on December 17, 1635.
The cross stood along the Downstown road until road improvements were
being carried out between 1740-1760. It was moved to Duleek churchyard
with the intention of being placed over a named grave. However, the caretaker
recommended that this request be turned down and the cross was eventually
placed at the rear of the Courthouse
where it became
overgrown with weeds. In 1867 it was moved to the west gable of the Catholic
church where it remained until 1961 when Fr Cuffe identified it as the
cross referred to by Dean Cogan a century earlier. In 1981 it was moved
to its present site at the east end of the village of Duleek at Mill Hill.
So ends a journey that started 350 years ago and embraces erection, neglect,
loss, oblivion and eventual rediscovery.
the village marketplace is a charming monument erected by Janet Dowdall
in 1601 in the memory of her late husband. William Bathe of Athcarne Castle.
This is somewhat similar to the Bathe-Dowdall crosses which are seen at
the entrance to Annesbrook House and at Whitecross near the entrance to
Athcarne. Carved on the west side of the projecting band is a small heart
encircled by a ring representing conjugal love.
the gates of Annesbrook
is the second of the Bathe-Dowdall crosses, erected by Janet Dowdall
wife of William Bathe of Athcarne who died on October 25, 1599 and is
buried in the old churchyard in Duleek.