Warp Four

 

Capstan

 

Links to Other Websites
Maritime Groups, Musicians and Singers
Ships
Information and Resources
Festivals

If you would like to submit your website to this list please email your details.

Maritime Groups and Musicians
SeŠn Corcoran www.cranmusic.com
Cran is a unique group in the Irish folk-music world with their own highly-individualistic approach and a bewildering array of styles and repertoire. Each member of the trio already had international reputations in their own fields before the band was formed. SeŠn has also sung with both the Press Gang and Warp Four.

Marc Bernier www.marcbernier.com
A professional chef, musician, and aailor with a diverse musical and professional background who has spent over 5 years as a Mystic Seaport Chantey man.

The Johnson Girls www.thejohnsongirls.com
A primarily a capella group performing traditional and contemporary folk music with an emphasis on sea shanties and other maritime music.

Liam Clancy www.liamclancy.com
The official web site of the self-confessed travelling troubadour.

Nenagh Singers Circle www.singerscircle.com
Based in County Tipperary, Ireland. Singing, poetry, stories and the living oral tradition. The Circle meets on the second Friday of each month from September to May.

Tom Lewis http://gamgee.acad.emich.edu/~tomlewis
A veteran of Her Majesty's Royal Navy, although now he's comfortably located on dry land in British Columbia, Canada. His songs cover a wide range of nautical topics, from life onboard H.M. ships, through to the loneliness and lure of the sea.

Ships
The Dunbrody www.dunbrody.com
Information on the reconstruction of an Irish emigrant ship, which is now located in New Ross, County Wicklow.

Jeanie Johnston www.jeaniejohnston.ie
A replica of the 19th century Irish emigrant ship.

Lady Nelson www.ladynelson.org.au
The Tasmanian Sail Training Association offers sail training and educational cruises aboard the Lady Nelson in Tasmania.

Information and Resources
Mystic Seaport Museum www.mysticseaport.org
One of America's leading maritime museums, guardian of the largest collections of boats and sea-related photography in the world.

Wooden Ships Music www.woodenshipsmusic.com
Extensive catalogue of sea shanties and maritime songs.

Renaissance Dance www.rendance.org
Information on everything to do with European dance from the 15th to early 17th centuries.

Folk Legacy Records Inc. www.folklegacy.com
A folk music catalogue of compact discs, cassettes, books and other items.

The Living Tradition www.folkmusic.net
Covering mainly the Folk & Traditional Music of the British Isles, Ireland and what is often called 'Celtic' music. The web site is provided by The Living Tradition magazine.

English Folk Dance & Song Society www.efdss.org
Aims to encourage, document and develop folk music, dance and song traditions within England.

Festivals
Krakow Festival
http://shanties.pl
February
Krakow, Poland

Mystic Seaport Sea Music Festival
www.mysticseaport.org
June
Mystic Seaport, Connecticut, USA

Cobh Maritime Song Festival
www.cobhmaritimesongfestival.com
June
Cobh, Co. Cork, Ireland

Waterford Tall Ships Race
www.waterfordtallshipsrace.ie
July
Waterford, Ireland

FÍte du Chant de Marin
August - held every 2 years (2003, 2005, 2007, etc)
Paimpol (Brittany), France

Hull Sea Fever Festival
August
Hull, UK

Mermaid Quay Cardiff Harbour Festival
August
Cardiff, Wales

  Main

The Crew

The Log

The Show

Soundings

The Gallery

Links

Capstan

 

Top of Page