Green Team

and Parents

Art Gallery

Class Pages

Hospice Garden Diary

Our School



Ballyraine N.S.

Ballyraine NS is a co-educational primary school in the town of Letterkenny under joint Church of Ireland/Presbyterian management. While it is a school with a Protestant ethos, all pupils of whatever background or religious persuasion are equally valued and respected.
Religious education
Ballyraine NS is a Protestant school under joint Church of Ireland/Presbyterian management and as such believes that nurturing the child in an atmosphere of faith and ensuring the child's religious formation is a core activity of the learning experience.
A weekly assembly is held on Thursday mornings with Junior and Senior assemblies on alternate weeks.
Teaching Staff
There are currently eleven teachers in the school. The classes are single grade and there are eight classroom teachers.
The school has an administrative principal, a fulltime learning support teacher and a resource teacher shared with Stramore NS and Lurgybrack NS.
Administrative Principal
Mr David Oliver
Deputy Principal
Learning Support Teacher
Mrs. Marina Sterritt
Resource Teacher
Mrs. Sinead Kelly (currently on maternity leave - we welcome Mrs. Anita Mustapha )
Language Support Teacher (temp.)
We welcome Andrew Hogg
6th class
Special Duties teacher -
Visual Arts and Resources
Ms Karen Boreland
5th class
Mrs. Fiona Bowe
4th class
We welcome David Barnes
3rd class
Mrs Sara Martin
2nd class
Special Duties teacher -
Website and ICT
Mrs. Lesley Wilkinson
1st class
Special Duties teacher -
P.E. and Health and Safety
Ms Linda Moore
Sn. Infants
Ms Catherine Robinson
Jn. Infants
Ms Arlene McConnaghy


Mrs. Elaine Maguire, Mrs. Maureen Durack and Ms Nina Leech are Special Needs Assistants.

Ancillary Staff:

Lynn Robinson School Secretary

Malachy Keeney School Caretaker and Cleaner

Michelle Moore and Ronnie Moore School Cleaners

Board of Management

The Board of Management is responsible for the governance of the school on a day to day basis.
The Chairperson acts on behalf of the Board in certifying school returns, policy documents and other official forms as required.
The Board of Management is responsible for the adoption of school policies and overall management, in accordance with Rules for National Schools, including the appointment of staff, maintenance of appropriate standards of behaviour within the school and implementation of the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 1989 through the school's safety agreement.
The Board of Management is also responsible for the general maintenance of the school building and grounds and the provision of satisfactory heating and cleaning in the school.

The Board's term of office is three years. It has eight members, comprising two patron nominees, two teacher nominees, and two parent nominees from the wider community.

Rev. Stewart Wright is currently Chairperson of the Board of Management. Telephone: 074 9122573.
To see the other board of management members click here