Go to Cashel Emly Main Page

Archdiocese and Diocese

From a Stone Sarcophagus on Saint Patrick's Rock, Cashel The Archdiocese of Cashel and the Diocese of Emly are commonly referred to as the Archdiocese of Cashel and Emly. Saint Ailbe is the Patron of the Archdiocese whose feastday is celebrated on 12 September.The following lists are of the parishes which comprised the Archdiocese of Cashel and Diocese of Emly.

Parliament ordered the union of Cashel and Emly in 1568, but Catholics did not recognise this. The union of the Archdiocese of Cashel and the Diocese of Emly was formally effected in 1718, sixty-seven years after the last Bishop of Emly, Blessed Terence Albert O'Brien (1647-51), died for the faith on a Limerick scaffold when Cromwellian forces under Henry Ireton captured the city in late October 1651. Since that date, and, indeed, for long centuries before, both dioceses shared a similar historical experience.

Doorway of Church in Clonkeen, County Limerick

Parishes of the Archdiocese of Cashel and the Diocese of Emly

Archdiocese of Cashel

  • Anacarty and Donohill
  • Ballinahinch and Killoscully
  • Ballingarry
  • Ballina and Boher
  • Bansha and Kilmoyler
  • Boherlahan and Dualla
  • Borrisoleigh and Ileigh
  • Cashel and Rosegreen
  • Clerihan
  • Clonoulty and Rossmore
  • Drangan and Cloneen
  • Drom and Inch
  • Fethard and Killusty
  • Golden and Kilfeacle
  • Gortnahoe and Glengoole
  • Holycross and Ballycahill
  • Kilcommon (without Hollyford)
  • Killenaule and Moyglass
  • Knockavilla and Donaskeigh
  • Loughmore and Castleiney
  • Moycarkey and Two-Mile-Borris
  • Moyne and Templetouhy
  • Mullinahone
  • New Inn and Knockgraffon
  • Newport and Birdhill
  • Templemore, Clonmore and Killea
  • Thurles
  • Upperchurch and Drombane

Diocese of Emly

  • Ballybricken and Bohermore
  • Ballylanders
  • Caherconlish and Inch St. Laurence
  • Cappamore
  • Cappawhite
  • Doon
  • Emly
  • Hollyford
  • Galbally and Aherlow
  • Hospital and Herbertstown
  • Kilbehenny and Anglesboro
  • Kilteely and Dromkeen
  • Knockaney and Patrickswell
  • Knocklong and Glenbrohane
  • Lattin and Cullen
  • Murroe and Boher
  • Pallasgrean and Templebraden
  • Solohead and Oola
  • Tipperary


¦ Top of Page ¦
¦ History Index ¦
¦ Main Page ¦ Parish List ¦ Priests ¦
¦ Contact ¦ About ¦
Copyright © 1999-2000. Archdiocese of Cashel & Emly.
All rights reserved.