The Official Co. Kilkenny Web Site.


The Four Parishes


Return to Kilmacow


The Four Parishes.

Kilmacow in the Middle Ages.

Eighteen Century

Sports and Pastimes

Kilmacow Cricket Team c.1890*

The Flour Mills

 * (Please note this is a Large File)


Parish of Kilmacow

The medieval parish of Kilmacow, which is of ecclesiastical origin, consisted of the townlands of Ballygriffin, Ballynearla, Grannagh, (which includes Ballinaroughery, Grannaghknock, Grannyferry, Tinlough, Dunbrin, and the Pill), Dangan, Flemingstown, Kilmacow, Narrabane North and South (Ballynacrumma) and Newtown.

Modern Parish of Kilmacow.

The changing circumstances of the early 19th. century, together with the rapid increase in population and the availability of more clergy, were the motivating factors in the creation of the present catholic eccesiastical parishes. In 1842 The Bishop of Ossary, Most Rev. Dr. Kinsella, took from kilmacow the townlands of Ballinamona and Killaspy and added them to the parish od Slieverue. At the same time he divided the remaining portion, giving the townlands of Ballydaw, Ballyhomac, Baulnnegologe, Fahee, Farnoge, Melville, Rahard, Rossinan, Rathliken, Rathmasmolagh and Scart to the new Parish of Mullinavat.

The modern Parish of Kilmacow is, therefore, formed from a union of four old parishes, ie.
Dunkitt - part

Kathleen Laffan

Contact the Author